Updates and Events

2013

Tue, 17 Sep 2013
My wonderful mother-in-law, dance teacher, choreographer, Patsy Swayze left this earth at age 86

Sat, 14 Sep 2013
My Buddy gone

Sat, 31 Aug 2013
Attending “Michael Bolton Charities”
6:00 pmEldorado Hotel, Reno, Nevada

Sun, 18 Aug 2013
Patrick’s Birthday

Sun, 09 Jun 2013
Speaking at PanCan “Celebration of Hope Gala”
6:30 pmSeattle, WA

Sat, 08 Jun 2013
Press Day for PanCan “Celebration of Hope Gala”
Seattle, WA

Sat, 04 May 2013
Attending the Make a Wish Foundation Gala
6:30 pmIntercontinental Hotel, Boston, MA

Fri, 05 Apr 2013
Speaking at Cancer Clinics of Excellence
7:30 pmPalace Hotel, San Francisco, CA

Fri, 01 Mar 2013
Interview in Sarasota Magazine out

Mon, 25 Feb 2013
Interview w/ Montreal Magazine

Wed, 20 Feb 2013
Press Conference w/ Senator Leonard Lance
1:00 pmSteeplechase Cancer Center, Westfield, NJ

Fri, 15 Feb 2013
Speaking at Tidewell Hospice
11:00 amRitz Carlton, Sarasota, FL

Thu, 14 Feb 2013
VIP Reception, Tidewell Hospice
5:30 pmRitz Carlton, Sarasota, FL

Fri, 25 Jan 2013
Interview w/ Pain Pathways Magazine

Thu, 10 Jan 2013
Recalcitrant Cancer Research Act – Press Conference

Tue, 08 Jan 2013
Interview for French TV “50 MINUTES INSIDE”

Wed, 02 Jan 2013
The “RECALCITRANT CANCER RESEARCH ACT” is SIGNED into LAW by PRESIDENT OBAMA!!!

Congrats to all of us, & last but not least, to the people whose precious lives will benefit from this bill being passed!!!

2012

Mon, 03 Dec 2012
Receiving “SPIRIT OF HOPE AWARD,” the highest honor bestowed by Stanford Cancer Institute. Palo Alto, CA

Sat, 10 Nov 2012
MICHAEL BOLTON CHARITIES. Reno, Nevada
(maybe Michael will let me sing? Uh, maybe not).

Sun, 04 Nov 2012
Attending PURPLESTRIDE NEW JERSEY

Sat, 03 Nov 2012
PURPLE STRIDE PHILADELPHIA
Attending PURPLE STRIDE PHILADELPHIA
Dinner w/ TeamHOPE, our runners for the NYC Marathon!

Mon, 01 Oct 2012
END OF LIFE SYMPOSIUM and CHICAGO IDEAS WEEK
Speaking at END OF LIFE SYMPOSIUM. 5 pm Macon College, Macon, Georgia.
Speaking at CHICAGO IDEAS WEEK. 7 – 8:30 pm at the Oriental Theater, Chicago, Illinois

Thu, 20 Sep 2012
Speaking at HOSPICE OF THE BLUEGRASS. 7:30 pm The Signature Club. Lexington, Kentucky.

Wed, 19 Sep 2012
THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES UNANIMOUSLY PASSED OUR BILL!!! ON TO THE SENATE FLOOR!

Fri, 14 Sep 2012
Taking the day to honor him.

Wed, 12 Sep 2012
WASHINGTON DC. A day on the Hill to lobby hard for our bill!

Tue, 11 Sep 2012
FOX AND FRIENDS. Interview w/PanCan President & CEO Julie Fleshman

Sat, 18 Aug 2012
Patrick’s Birthday

Sun, 01 Jul 2012 to Tue, 31 Jul 2012
Playing Hooky!

Thu, 28 Jun 2012
THE HILL
Link

Tue, 26 Jun 2012
6th ANNUAL PANCREATIC CANCER ADVOCACY DAY.

Lauren Scala, and me at PurpleStride 4/21/2012

  • DTV Link
  • FOX NEWS Link
  • 6th ANNUAL PANCREATIC CANCER ADVOCACY DAY.We’re marching on Washington, Folks! And this one is important! Whether or not you make it all the way to DC, you can stand up & raise your voice in this passionate cause.
    1. REGISTRATION IS FULL! 6/1/12 – Link
    2. Make a stand. Participate in our Three Week Challenge to Victory, beginning June 12th. Link
    3. MAKE a NOISE in our NATIONAL CALL-IN on JUNE 26th!!! SIGN UP for this call: Link
  • Thank you all for your beyond-appreciated participation.

Mon, 25 Jun 2012
THE TODAY SHOW, CNN, THE HILL, POLITICO, and HEADLINE NEWS

  • THE TODAY SHOW on NBC. Interview on air between 9 & 9:30am EST. Link
  • CNN Link
  • Travel to Washington DC.
  • THE HILL, Interview. Link
  • POLITICO interview, along w/ Julie Fleshman, President of Pancreatic Cancer Action Network. Link
  • HEADLINE NEWS interview, along w/ Julie Fleshman, President of Pancreatic Cancer Action Network. Link

Mon, 25 Jun 2012
THE TODAY SHOW on NBC
THE TODAY SHOW on NBC. Interview on air between 9 & 9:30am EST. Link

Fri, 22 Jun 2012
Interview w/ New York Times.
Interview w/ New York Times. LINK

Tue, 12 Jun 2012
Three Week Challenge to Victory
June is our month as we work towards our all-important Advocacy Day in Washington DC. Make a stand with me, & participate in our Three Week Challenge to Victory, beginning June 12th. Link

Wed, 06 Jun 2012
New Mexico, ahhh.

Sun, 20 May 2012
In Boston. For my awesome niece, goddaughter, and namesake, Lisa’s graduation from BOSTON UNIVERSITY!

Sat, 19 May 2012
SLOW DANCE IN MIDTOWN
SLOW DANCE IN MIDTOWN. My amazing brother-in-law is performing in this powerful play at WhiteFire Theater in Sherman Oaks, CA. Extended Run! Link

Sat, 28 Apr 2012
DIRECTOR’S GUILD of AMERICA (DGA) POKER TOURNAMENT 2012
DIRECTOR’S GUILD of AMERICA (DGA) POKER TOURNAMENT 2012. Sharpening up my poker skills! Proceeds support the Director’s Guild Foundation that serves fellow members in need. It’s win/win tonight!

Mon, 23 Apr 2012
6:30 pm, attending the opening and celebration of GHOST THE MUSICAL on Broadway.

Sat, 21 Apr 2012
CBS THIS MORNING and PURPLE STRIDE
7:40 am, appearing on CBS THIS MORNING with hosts Rebecca Jarvis and Jeff Glor.

PURPLE STRIDE Event in New York City! For more information/register, go HERE

Wed, 18 Apr 2012
COMPLEXIONS
6:30 pm, attending open rehearsal of COMPLEXIONS at 890 Broadway, NYC. Love this dance company!

Sat, 14 Apr 2012
WOMEN’S HEALTH 360
Speaking in San Jose @ WOMEN’S HEALTH 360, hosted by Good Samaritan Hospital. Saturday, April 21st at 8:30 am. @ San Jose Marriot, 301 S Market St, San Jose, CA 95113. More info: 1-888-724-2362. This event is FREE!

Thu, 29 Mar 2012 to Fri, 30 Mar 2012
THE CIRCLE
THE CIRCLE, live on-camera interview in Australia, Friday the 30th @ 10 am (Thurs. the 29th @ 4 pm PST). “The Circle” is Australia’s version of the US show “The View.”
LINK

Tue, 13 Mar 2012 to Wed, 14 Mar 2012
NEWSTALK ZB BREAKFAST
NEWSTALK ZB BREAKFAST, radio interview airs live in New Zealand, the 14th @ 7am (the 13th at 11am PST).

Thu, 08 Mar 2012
Radio interview with Australia’s Afternoons with Moyd and Loretta.
Radio interview with Australia’s Afternoons with Moyd and Loretta. Link

Thu, 01 Mar 2012
OM TIMES MAGAZINE
OM TIMES MAGAZINE, cover story. Link

Wed, 29 Feb 2012
TODAY TONIGHT airs.
TODAY TONIGHT airs. Link

Wed, 01 Feb 2012
LADIES HOME JOURNAL and TODAY TONIGHT
FEBRUARY ISSUE – LADIES HOME JOURNAL. Featured article on stands in January.

TODAY TONIGHT interview – taped Australia

Tue, 31 Jan 2012
METAPHYSICAL MINDS
“METAPHYSICAL MINDS” Live interview w/Shay Parker, 4:00-6:00 pm PST/7:00-8:00 pm EST on CBS – New Sky Radio, in conjunction with OM TIMES MAGAZINE cover story.

Sat, 28 Jan 2012 to Sun, 29 Jan 2012
GRAND-AM ROLEX 24
GRAND-AM ROLEX 24 at Daytona International Speedway, Daytona Beach, FL. In the pit, supporting & cheering the team’s race for Texas Heart Institute, and Patrick Dempsey team for Seattle Children’s Hospital.

Fri, 20 Jan 2012
2UE NEWS TALK
2UE NEWS TALK interview w/Tim Shaw. Link

Thu, 13 Jan 2012
TODAY SHOW Australia, KCBS 2, and EVERYDAY HEALTH

  • TODAY SHOW Australia, on camera interview. Link
  • KCBS Channel 2 News, interview with Suraya Fadel. Link
  • EVERYDAY HEALTH interview w/ Allison Takeda. Link

Thu, 12 Jan 2012
PANCREATIC CANCER ACTION NETWORK and KCBS 2
PANCREATIC CANCER ACTION NETWORK. Book Event at 6pm at headquarters, 1500 Rosecrans Avenue, Suite 200, Manhattan Beach, CA
KCBS CHANNEL 2 interview w/ Suraya Fadel. Link

Tue, 10 Jan 2012
BARNES AND NOBLE book signing and Q&A, 7pm at The Grove, West Hollywood, CA.

Mon, 09 Jan 2012
ACCESS HOLLYWOOD, KTLA, E!, and EXTRA!

  • ACCESS HOLLYWOOD LIVE at 7:30am PST. Also airing again at 11am PST. Link
  • MORNING NEWS KTLA, live at 9:08 am.
  • E! ENTERTAINMENT, live at 11:30 PST.
  • EXTRA! Interview with Mario Lopez at 7pm PST. Link

Sat, 07 Jan 2012
FOX AND FRIENDS , NEWS 92 FM, and BLUE WILLOW BOOKS

  • FOX AND FRIENDS WEEKEND via satellite live at 9:20am EST.
  • NEWS 92 FM Radio in Houston, TX.
  • BLUE WILLOW BOOKS at the West Houston Community Center. Speaking, Q & A, and book signing starting at 3pm. Address: 725 Bateswood Dr., Suite 230, Houston TX 77079.

Fri, 06 Jan 2012
THE SCOTSMAN
THE SCOTSMAN, newspaper interview. Link
“INNERVIEWS WITH ERNIE MANOUSE”, for PBS.

Thu, 05 Jan 2012
BROADMINDED and THE WENDY WILLIAMS SHOW

  • BROADMINDED on Sirius-XM Radio at 9:30am – 10:00am EST.
  • THE WENDY WILLIAMS SHOW, interview.
  • Fly to Houston, TX.

Wed, 04 Jan 2012
THE PAT KENNY SHOW, Fox Friends, THE ONCOLOGY SHOW, and SOMERSET MEDICAL CENTER

  • THE FRANK DECARO SHOW on Sirius-XM, 1:30-1:55 EST.
  • BARNES & NOBLE book signing at 7 pm – 150 East 86th Street (between 3rd & 4th), NY, NY
  • January 4, 2012
  • THE PAT KENNY SHOW, UK Radio at 7:oo – 7:20 EST / 12pm GMT
  • FOX NEWS CHANNEL “Fox Friends” interview at 8:45 am.
  • THE ONCOLOGY SHOW on Sirius-XM, 12pm – 12:30pm EST
  • SOMERSET MEDICAL CENTER, speaking, Q & A, and book signing starting at at 7pm, Bridgewater Manor, 1251 Route 202/206, Bridgewater, New Jersey

Tue, 03 Jan 2012
Lisa Niemi Swayze’s book, WORTH FIGHTING FOR is released on January 3, 2012!

  • GOOD MORNING AMERICA interview with Lisa. Link
  • USA TODAY article out today.
  • THE FRANK DECARO SHOW on Sirius-XM, 1:30-1:55 EST.
  • BARNES & NOBLE book signing at 7 pm – 150 East 86th Street (between 3rd & 4th), NY, NY

2011

20110;border-width:3px;border-color:#999999">Go to top

Fri, 09 Dec 2011
Keynote Speaker, 6th ANNUAL INTERNATIONAL CACHEXIA CONFERENCE, Milan, Italy

Wed, 23 Nov 2011
Speaker at Purple Light Vigil at Houston’s City Hall.

Sun, 20 Nov 2011
Interview on Great Day Houston with Deborah Duncan
http://news.yahoo.com/video/health-15749655/patrick-swayze-s-widow-on-a-mission-to-fight-pancreatic-cancer-27309089.html

Sun, 20 Nov 2011
Article in Your Houston News.
http://www.yourhoustonnews.com/west_university/news/lisa-niemi-swayze-to-lead-houston-pancreatic-cancer-vigil-sunday/article_289eee91-0526-5012-aefe-2d4c18ece489.html

Fri, 18 Nov 2011
Article in Culture Map Houston on Texas Women’s Conference.

Thu, 17 Nov 2011
Interview, The Houston Chronicle
http://blog.chron.com/middlelane/2011/11/lisa-niemi-flying-solo-without-patrick-swayze/

Thu, 17 Nov 2011
Keynote Speaker, TEXAS WOMEN’S CONFERENCE, Houston, TX
“Live Fearlessly! Imagine your path to purpose and boldly transform.”
Link

Fri, 11 Nov 2011
Interview with EverydayHealth.com
http://www.everydayhealth.com/pancreatic-cancer/lisa-niemi-swayze-on-life-after-patrick-he-ll-always-be-with-me.aspx?xid=aol_eh-emo_2_20120116_&aolcat=HLT

Fri, 11 Nov 2011
Interview with SELF MAGAZINE online.
http://www.self.com/health/blogs/healthyself/2011/11/my-healthyself-how-lisa-swayze.html

Tue, 01 Nov 2011
10:00 am
GREAT DAY HOUSTON” interview with Deborah Duncan airs.
http://www.khou.com/great-day/gdh_11-01-11_seg6-133003888.html

Tue, 01 Nov 2011 to Wed, 30 Nov 2011
NOVEMBER is PANCREATIC CANCER AWARENESS MONTH.

Sun, 30 Oct 2011
PEOPLE MAGAZINE, featured article on stands!

Sat, 22 Oct 2011
EVENING OF THE STARS, Pancreatic Cancer Action Network’s Annual Fundraising Gala

Fri, 21 Oct 2011
Keynote Speaker at PANCREATIC CANCER ACTION NETWORK’s Scientific Grantee Dinner

Tue, 18 Oct 2011
Unveiling of Patrick’s wax figure at MADAME TUSSAUDS! Hollywood, CA
10:00 amMadame Tussauds Hollywood

Patrick’s statue will be unveiled.